My First Marathon

30 Jan

Week 1:  I just signed up for my first full marathon- the North Olympic Discovery Marathon.  It’s a gorgeous trail, from Sequim to Port Angeles, along the Strait of Juan de Fuca, here in Northwest Washington.  It truly is a beautiful run.
I have 18 weeks to train. I’m excited because this is something I’ve wanted to do for a really long time, and I’m finally gonna do it. I have a solid running base; I have been faithfully running since March 2011.  I ran my first 10K and then an ultra-trail half marathon last summer.
I’m also super nervous because this is a huge committment, of both physical and time. As one of my friends shared, the next 18 weeks will be filled with ups and downs, but it will all be worth it when I cross that finish line.
I plan on sharing this journey with all of you; it will help hold me accountable in my training. Each week, I will be posting my runs through Nike+GPS, so you will be able to follow along and cheer me on! (If you feel so inclined) Looking forward to these next 18 weeks. Here I go!
8 Responses to “My First Marathon”

  1. Jenn January 31, 2012 at 1:58 am #

    So excited about your new blog!

  2. bry27 January 31, 2012 at 2:17 am #

    Best of luck. I am running my first NYC in the fall. I have run 2 marathons before.

    Best of luck in your training.

    • Maria Angeliadis January 31, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

      I wish you well Rachel!!I know you can do anything you set your goals on!! Prays with you and yours.

      • mommaschwag February 1, 2012 at 7:49 am #

        Thank you so much Maria! I’m so glad that we are able to keep in contact over the years even though we are so far apart. We really must get together next time I’m in Florida. It’s a date! 🙂
        Love,
        Rachel

  3. jessica January 31, 2012 at 11:42 pm #

    That is awesome! I am doing my first 1/2 marathon on Feb. 27. It’s the Disney Princess one. Hopefully I will learn some great tips from your blog!

    • mommaschwag February 1, 2012 at 7:48 am #

      Thanks! I’m hoping I can share my experiences, and that it will help others. I’m no expert, but I can speak about what I’m going through. I think that’s how I’ve learned the most, just listening to and reading about what other people have gone through.
      Have you checked out Hal Higdon’s Half Marathon Training Guide? It’s what I used for my first half and it was awesome. I posted it for my marathon but he has a half schedule too. You should check it out if you don’t already have a training plan. Good luck! I’d love to hear how it goes. I’ve ALWAYS wanted to run the Disney Half-Marathon. I grew up in Florida. 🙂
      ~Rachel

  4. Halli February 2, 2012 at 6:07 am #

    I think it’s great that you are pushing yourself to go further…to be outside of your comfort zone. I just started running last Fall and did my first 5K in Dec. 2011 (the reindeer run). I’ve since made a goal to run a 10K in March. I am also giving serious thought to the Susan G Koman 3 day/60 mile walk for breast cancer in Sept. Goals are so important! Without them we’d be wandering around aimlessly. Great blog :0)

    • mommaschwag February 5, 2012 at 8:20 pm #

      Thanks so much for checking out my new blog! I wish I had time to update this more, but my life is super busy, and it just doesn’t happen as much as I’d like. Weekends are when I will be adding more content, so be on the lookout.
      I’m so impressed at your progress, in both weight loss (50 lbs! Wow!) and in your running. Which 10K are you running in March? I want to add some links to other runs in the area that people can check out. Have you considered the NODM? http://www.nodm.com That was my first 10K and I ran it last year and loved it. There’s a great running community here in Port Angeles, which is so great for the support.
      Thanks again for stopping by, feel free to tell your friends if you think they’d enjoy reading. Maybe I’ll see ya around Subway. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

