Week 1 Marathon Training

5 Feb

Week 1 of Marathon Training completed: Check!
15 miles run over 4 days: Check!
That sense of accomplishment that comes naturally with running: Check!

Strait of Juan de Fuca

This week, my running has felt different.  I’ve been running faithfully since April 2011, and while my mileage wasn’t really any different than the past 6 months, my state-of-mind was different.  I felt my love of running renewed.  I was more motivated to stick to my training schedule and carve time out of my very busy schedule to lace up my running shoes and hit the road, or the treadmill.  And I am 100% convinced that my renewed drive comes from having a goal.

While this is a huge goal for me, running a marathon has been on my bucket list for 5 years, I don’t feel it is an impossible one.  I’ve set a solid foundation over the last 10 months, and I really, truly, deeply, madly, love running.  I know that I wouldn’t even be able to even attempt training for 26.2 miles if I didn’t love the sense of calm and peace as I run my favorite trail along the water, or the rush of happiness and feeling of accomplishment when I push myself just a little farther.  I think you could say that the loves of my life rank in this order:  my Heavenly Father, Jon, Tristan, my family, my friends, and RUNNING.  Yup.  I am that obsessed.  But, it is a good obsession.  One that has changed my life in so many ways.

On the plate for Week 2- Monday: Cross Training; Wednesday: 3 mi; Friday: 4 mi; Saturday: 3 mi; Sunday: 7 mi.
The mileage will steadily climb, but so will my strength, endurance, and committment.

Until next time…

3 Responses to “Week 1 Marathon Training”

  1. wartica February 5, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    Good luck with the training for the marathon; I’m sure you will do just fine:))Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

  2. Melissa Bender February 5, 2012 at 9:24 pm #

    I agree 100% that having a goal makes a huge difference. 🙂 You are doing amazingly. Keep up the great work!

  3. Halli February 6, 2012 at 1:12 am #

    I love how you have such a passion for running. I belong to a running group called Run for God. It’s completely changed my life. I too have a passion for running..it’s taught me how to fully lean on the strength of the Lord. When I feel like I couldn’t go a single step further, he fills me up. It’s a great ministry as well. It’s like the best of both worlds- a group bible study & running. It’s been such a blessing to witness the transformation in all of girls in my group. We were a bunch of non-running couch potatoes who through Christ accomplished running our first 5k in December. I too am feeling a fire lit under me this past two weeks and I KNOW it’s because I have set two new goals. 10k in March and 3 day/60 mile walk in Sept. Out of curiosity, do you run by yourself along the Discovery trail? I’m too scared to do that. I’m having a hard time finding places to run where I feel safe and I don’t always want to run on the treadmill. Suggestions?

Leave a comment